What options do people have to avoid motor vehicle points when they receive a speeding ticket or other traffic offense in New Jersey? Depending on their circumstances, the answer we advise to clients is usually the “unsafe operation” statute.
In New Jersey, under this law, you can avoid points by pleading to this, but no more than two (2) times in a five (5) year period. The penalties are as follows:
- First Offense: $50-$150 fine and a $250 surcharge
- Second Offense: $100-$250 fine and a $250 surcharge
- Third Offense: $200-$500 fine, 4 points, and a $250 surcharge
If available to you, this can be a very useful plea for purposes of avoiding points on your driving record. However, given the escalation of penalties, and the number of times within which it may be used, this “No Point” option not may not be the best course of action for you.